Title: Appointment of additional Members to the

Standards Committee

Portfolio Holder: Councillor Graham Payne - Leader

Reporting Officer: Tim Darsley - Monitoring Officer

Purpose

To recommend to Council the appointment of two additional Town/Parish Members and one additional Independent Member to the Standards Committee.

Background

At its February meeting, Council agreed that the membership of the Standards Committee should be increased in order for it to undertake its new responsibilities for the local assessment of complaints.

The revised membership of the Standards Committee is now:

- Four independent Members
- Four Town/Parish Members
- Four District Councillors

Town and Parish Members

All Town and Parish Councils have been invited to nominate a candidate for the two additional Town/Parish Members of the Standards Committee. Each candidate was asked to explain in no more that 150 words why they wish to be chosen for the role.

Town and Parish representatives are appointed by Council following a secret ballot of Councillors. Accordingly, ballot papers and the candidate statements have been circulated to all District Council Members.

The results are as follows:-

PARISH		TOWN	
	Votes		Votes
Gregory Coombes	8	Peter Leach	13
Alfred Morton	4	Stephen Andrews	10
Robert Oglesby	9		

The candidates with the highest number of votes are;

- Cllr Peter Leach, Bradford on Avon Town Council
- Cllr Robert Oglesby, Semington Parish Council

Independent Member

Independent Members are appointed by Council on the recommendation of a panel comprising:

- The Chair of Council Councillor Julie Swabey
- The Leader of Council Councillor Graham Payne
- The Chair of the Scrutiny Committee Councillor Jeff Osborne
- The Chair of the Audit Committee Councillor Helen Osborne

Following an advertisement in the Wiltshire Times, two applicants were interviewed by the panel on 25 March. Both candidates had much to offer the Standards Committee and Mrs Jacqueline Smith was recommended for appointment. Council agreed to this appointment on 9 April 2008. It subsequently emerged, however, that Mrs Smith is ineligible for the role of an Independent Member due to her being the Clerk to two Parish Councils. A person is only eligible to become an Independent Member if they are not a member or an officer of any local authority.

Mrs Smith has been informed of this and is understanding of the position. The second candidate, Mr Dennis Johnson, is still interested in the position and would be pleased to accept the appointment.

The appointment panel are confident that Mr Johnson would also be a very capable and suitable member of the Standards Committee. It is therefore recommending that he be appointed in place of Mrs Smith as the additional Independent Member to the Standards Committee.

Financial Implications

There are no significant financial implications in making these appointments to the Standards Committee.

Legal and Human Rights Implications

The appointment processes have been in accordance with the requirements of the constitution.

Risk Management

If the new appointments to the Standards Committee are not made, there is a risk that the Standards Committee will not be able to discharge effectively its new responsibilities.

Recommendations

It is recommended that:

- Councillor Peter Leach of Bradford on Avon Town Council and Councillor Robert Oglesby of Semington Parish Council be appointed as the additional Town/Parish members of the Standards Committee
- ii. Mr Dennis Johnson be appointed as the additional Independent Member of the Standards Committee, in place of Mrs Jacquline Smith.